KoD Journal #1 | October 25, 2018

What the heck does that title mean? You might not be thinking that. That’s besides the point. 

I’m officially getting back into my WIP after finally finding the time to bring it back into my spare time. This semester is winding down and I’m making more time for these things, especially my WIP. It also helps that I just turned in a short story assignment that was a scene from my WIP. Well, a very rough scene. A very, very, very rough scene. 

It was a sense of inspiration, though. This is a book that I really want to get out there. I want it to be my baby, as some authors like to call their debuts. I want to create characters for readers to look up to and a story for people to remember and cause them to scream at and throw something at the wall. God, that would be the best compliment.

Have any of you heard of Scrivener? If you’re a writer, you probably have. I’ve heard about it from so many authors on Twitter and how organized it is. It’s actually not a bad price and the free trial is only 30 days. However, the good thing about that trial is, if you don’t use it everyday, that 30 days doesn’t go into the days you don’t use it. It can go on for months. For me not having the time every day to use it, that works out in my favor. 

So, I’m trying to read the tutorial but I am itching to get started and get my notes together. What do I do? I stop the tutorial and get started. Only, I have no idea what to do. I never thought that a single program could be so intimidating. There is a lot that goes into this program and it kind of gave me that same feeling you get with stage fright. I was just like…

tenor

Yeah. So, clearly I need to get more familiar with Scrivener before diving into the deep end. I know that I want to get the dialogue together and then write down the scenes in my head. I like the technique Sandhya Menon uses for scenes. She uses notecards and just writes down what she sees and then puts them together in the right order later. I can see it all in my head and I’m just in love with it all and these characters. But, I need to shape them into something physical. I need to make it more real.

Well, as real as you can get with a story that has deadly spirits, magic and beautiful men that would never exist in the human race.

signature

 

 

Leave a comment